Skip to content
MMyGLP Reviews
Branded and compounded

Shapely review

In-network with Medicare and major PPOs, with monthly dietitian visits and a connected scale included in the membership

Reviewed September 18, 2026 · Visit Shapely

Overview

What Shapely is

Shapely is one of very few consumer GLP-1 services that is genuinely in-network rather than merely willing to file paperwork on your behalf. It states network status with Medicare and most PPO plans including Aetna, Blue Shield and United, which matters enormously because Medicare cannot cover anti-obesity medication by statute and almost nothing in this category touches it. Insured members pay copays only for a membership that includes monthly video visits with a weight-loss clinician, monthly dietitian visits, unlimited chat support and a cellular-connected smart scale. Self-pay is $99 a month, discounted to $49 for the first month. Medication is separate either way, and the branded formulary is the widest we have seen — including Foundayo, the oral orforglipron.

Treatment options

  • Branded GLP-1 prescriptions through insurance
  • Compounded semaglutide injections
  • Compounded tirzepatide injections
  • Monthly dietitian visits
  • Non-GLP-1 weight medication

Branded vs compounded

Branded and compounded

Offers both. Read the price list carefully — the headline figure is almost always the compounded option.

Branded medications

  • Wegovy
  • Ozempic
  • Zepbound
  • Mounjaro
  • Oral Wegovy
  • Foundayo
  • Contrave

Compounded medications

  • Compounded semaglutide (injection)
  • Compounded tirzepatide (injection)

Best for

People with Medicare or a major PPO who want branded medication billed through their plan and a dietitian in the loop monthly.

Limitations

The insurance angle is the whole proposition and it is a real one — but compounded medication is still cash-pay, and the membership never includes the drug. Price both routes before choosing: if your plan declines branded coverage, $198 a month all-in for compounded semaglutide is roughly double the cheapest cash-pay options.

Pricing

What it costs

Every figure below is published by the provider. Where a price is not published, we say so rather than estimating.

Membership
$99/month self-pay, $49 for the first month; copays only with accepted insurance
$50 off the first month of self-pay membership
Medication included?
No — billed separately
Insurance
In-network with Medicare and most PPO plans, naming Aetna, Blue Shield and United among others. Insured members pay copays only for the membership, and branded medications are billed through the plan.

What the membership includes

  • Monthly video visits with a weight-loss clinician
  • Monthly dietitian visits
  • Unlimited support via chat and app
  • Cellular-enabled smart scale
Shapely published medication pricing
MedicationPublished priceNote
Compounded semaglutideStarting at $99/moCash-pay only, charged separately from the membership
Compounded tirzepatideStarting at $166/moCash-pay only, charged separately from the membership
Branded GLP-1sInsurance copayWegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound, Mounjaro, Oral Wegovy, Foundayo and Contrave are all listed as insurance accepted

How it works

Process, eligibility and logistics

Consultation process
Monthly video visits with a weight-loss clinician, plus monthly dietitian visits and unlimited support through chat and the app.
Eligibility
Not disclosed on the provider's site
Who prescribes
Weight-loss clinicians and dietitians seen monthly by video, with unlimited chat support between visits through the app.
Lab requirements
Not included in the membership. Typically covered by insurance, or $75 self-pay.
Ongoing support
Monthly clinician video visits, monthly dietitian visits, unlimited chat support, and a cellular-enabled smart scale that tracks weight automatically — though the scale is stated to be unavailable with Aetna or Cigna as primary insurance.
Nutrition & coaching
Monthly dietitian visits included in the membership rather than sold separately.
Pharmacy fulfilment
Not disclosed on the provider's site
Shipping
Not disclosed on the provider's site
Insurance
In-network with Medicare and most PPO plans, naming Aetna, Blue Shield and United among others. Insured members pay copays only for the membership, and branded medications are billed through the plan.
HSA / FSA
Not disclosed on the provider's site
Cancellation
Not disclosed on the provider's site
Refunds
Not disclosed on the provider's site

Assessment

Pros and cons

Editorial judgment applied to the published facts above.

Pros

  • Genuinely in-network rather than merely assisting with claims — including Medicare, which almost nothing in this category accepts
  • Monthly dietitian visits included in the membership, which addresses the lean-mass risk directly
  • A cellular-connected smart scale included, so weight tracking does not depend on self-reporting
  • The widest branded formulary we have verified, including Foundayo (oral orforglipron) and Contrave
  • States plainly what the membership excludes — medications and labs — rather than leaving it to a footnote

Cons

  • Medication is never included: self-pay all-in is about $198 for semaglutide and $265 for tirzepatide
  • Labs cost $75 if not covered by insurance
  • The smart scale is unavailable with Aetna or Cigna as primary insurance, which is an odd carve-out
  • No pharmacy, eligibility criteria, cancellation or refund terms published
  • Compounded medication is cash-pay only even for insured members, as it is everywhere

Alternatives

If Shapely isn't right

Compare all costs

Zealthy

Built around getting branded GLP-1s covered — headline $25/month is an insurance outcome, not a price

Membership not published

PlushCare

The only provider we verified that is genuinely in-network with major insurers

$19.99/month

Found

The only provider we verified that bills a GLP-1 visit through your insurance while keeping the medication cash-pay

None on compounded plans; branded Wegovy requires a membership from $49/month

Shapely: frequently asked questions

Does Shapely take insurance?
Yes, and in-network rather than out-of-network. It states network status with Medicare and most PPO plans including Aetna, Blue Shield and United. Insured members pay copays only for the membership.
How much does Shapely cost without insurance?
$99 a month for the membership, discounted to $49 for the first month, plus medication separately — compounded semaglutide from $99 and tirzepatide from $166. That is about $198 or $265 a month all-in.
Does the Shapely membership include medication?
No. The company states plainly that memberships do not include medications or labs. Labs are typically covered by insurance or $75 otherwise.
What is included in the membership?
Monthly video visits with a weight-loss clinician, monthly dietitian visits, unlimited chat and app support, and a cellular-enabled smart scale — though the scale is unavailable with Aetna or Cigna as primary insurance.
Which medications does Shapely prescribe?
Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide cash-pay, plus a branded list accepted through insurance covering Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound, Mounjaro, Oral Wegovy, Foundayo and Contrave.

Sources

Verified September 18, 2026. Prices in this category change frequently — confirm current details with the provider.

Medical disclaimer

This review is editorial research about a commercial service. It is not medical advice, and it is not a recommendation to start, stop or change any treatment. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with real contraindications and side effects. Decisions about whether they are appropriate for you belong with a qualified clinician who knows your medical history. Prices and terms in this category change frequently — we publish the date each review was verified and link every source, but you should confirm current details with the provider before purchasing.